Bourbon

20110819-114318.jpg
I didn’t appreciate bourbon until I left Kentucky. It wasn’t until I moved Texas, land of Friday night lights and Lone Star Beer, that I latched on to bourbon as a little bit of home in a bottle. But I’m getting ahead of myself…

What is bourbon?
Bourbon is an alcoholic beverage. More specifically, bourbon is an American whiskey made from at least 51% corn and aged in new, charred oak barrels. In order to be called straight bourbon, the bourbon must be aged for at least two years and have no added colors or flavoring. Most bourbon is aged for at least four years and I’ve got one on the shelf that spent 23 years perfecting in it’s barrel.

What is Bourbon in Exile?
Bourbon in Exile is my attempt to document and share my experiences with and enjoyment of “America’s Native Spirit”. I was admiring the variety of bourbon-based cocktails on the menu of one of Dallas’ many fine dining establishments when I got a crazy idea. I decided to try and sample as many of them as I could get my hands on and share my experiences with my fellow bourbon lovers. Luckily, I’ve got a wife that not only tolerates, but actively encourages my silliness.

So sit back, relax, pour yourself a sip of your favorite bourbon and join me as I attempt to uncover (in a responsible fashion) all bourbon has to offer.

About Bourbon in Exile

Bourbon lover living in beer country
This entry was posted in Know Your Bourbon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

