My Wishlist

20111122-140917.jpg
It’s that time of year again. Thanksgiving is mere hours away and my family is trying to figure out what to get me for Christmas.

The Thanksgiving plan is all set. Baby A, the Pretty Little Wife, and I will be dining with our extended adopted family of bugnutty lunatics (I love those people!). I should make a note to swing by the store and pick up a bottle of Wild Turkey (what else?) to take to the dinner. Then, my parents are flying in to spend a few days spoiling their new granddaughter.

To save them, and any of you who are feeling particularly generous toward your favorite bourbon blogger (or shopping for a bourbon lover of your own), some time and effort, I now present my 2011 Saint Presents Day Bourbon Themed Wishlist.

  • Four Roses 2011 Small Batch Limited Edition – Four Roses Master Distiller Jim Rutledge can do no wrong. One way or another, I’m going to get my hands on a bottle of this stuff.
  • Pappy Van Winkle 15 year old 2011 release – I’ve heard very good things about this bottle, which is expected to hit shelves just after Thanksgiving and disappear from shelves soon thereafter. This will likely be the last year that barrels from the old Stitzel-Weller stock make it into the Van Winkle’s 15 year old offering.
  • 2011 William Larue Weller – Distilled in 1998, this is the only wheat bourbon in Buffalo Trace’s annual Antique Collection. It got a 95 from Whisky Advocate and the blend of sweetness and spice sounds right up my alley.
  • The Kentucky Bourbon Cocktail Book – Who doesn’t need another cocktail book?
  • Bourbon, Straight: The Uncut and Unfiltered Story of American Whiskey – Chuck is a Kentucky Colonel and a member of the Kentucky Bourbon Hall of Fame (class of 2009). If the book is half as good as his blog, it will be twice as good as anything I’ve written. Maybe better.
  • Bourbon Whiskey Our Native Spirit: Sour Mash and Sweet Adventures – I got to talk to Bernie Lubbers when the Beam Global Spirits Confidential road show came through Dallas. He’s a funny guy who knows his bourbon. I’m curious to see if he translates well into print.
  • A 2012 Kentucky Bourbon Trail vacation – In particular, I’d like to time the vacation to coincide with the 2012 Bourbon Chase so the Pretty Little Wife and I can attend the finish line party in Lexington.

Tune in next week for the best part of the holiday season: booze recipes!

About Bourbon in Exile

Bourbon lover living in beer country
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

