The Plan

20120721-210906.jpg
If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my nearly 12 months as a semi-active blogger, it’s this: developing your own thoughts and opinions is hard work. It is far easier to collect and share the opinions of others. Of course, if I just regurgitate everything Chuck Cowdery says, you’ll stop reading my blog and just read his instead. In order to produce more original content without having to do any real thinking, I’ve decided to get some friends together for a blind tasting of non-premium bourbons.

It’s an idea I’ve been kicking around for a while now: the bottom shelf bourbon tasting. I’ll get five or six people together and we’ll taste our way through a few of the less expensive bourbons commonly found at your local liquor stores. We will take notes and discuss our observations and then I will collect the results to share with the world. I’m genuinely curious to know how Evan Williams and Jim Beam white label stack up against Old Fitzgerald and Fighting Cock.

Maybe, since it’s going to be a blind tasting and all, I will throw in one premium bottle, to see how it stacks up with the rest. When it’s all said and done, I hope to be able to put the Bourbon in Exile stamp of approval on at least one sub $20 bottle.

Anyone want to volunteer?

If this goes well, the next tasting will likely involve my Stitzel-Weller stock.

About Bourbon in Exile

Bourbon lover living in beer country
This entry was posted in Know Your Bourbon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Plan

  1. brad kearns says:

    Ooooh! Pick me! Pick MEEeeee!

    •waves hand emphatically overhead

Leave a Reply

