Bacon

A few weeks ago, the folks over at Buffalo Trace (or the ad agency that handles their social media) shared a link on on Facebook. Here’s that link.

I clicked through. I read the recipe. The hamster wheels in my head started turning…

I love bourbon. I love bacon. The process seems simple enough. And when I’m done, not only will I have a bottle of bacon-infused bourbon, I’ll have a plate of delicious bacon. Sold!

I got my bacon. I got my bourbon. I made bacon-infused bourbon.

In hindsight, I believe I was so caught up in the excitement of what I could do that I didn’t stop to think about what I should do. I’m not saying the bacon bourbon is bad, just that I don’t expect to be making any more.

Bacon bourbon certainly isn’t for drinking straight. While it is smoky and salty in a fairly pleasant way, it also has a greasy finish that is not particularly pleasant. The bacon old fashioned is a significantly better delivery system as the syrup seems to cover up some of the oiliness. However, it’s still not a drink I would prepare for myself regularly.

The lesson here kids is that two great tastes do not always taste great together.

About Bourbon in Exile

Bourbon lover living in beer country
This entry was posted in My Bourbon Shelf and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

