Vanilla

About a week before I came across the bacon bourbon recipe, the Pretty Little Wife and I went out for a Friday lunch at the Dallas Chop House – restaurant week rocks – and I ordered their Madagascar Manhattan. It’s pretty much a standard Manhattan made with vanilla-infused bourbon. It was excellent.

While I may not have been terribly pleased with the results of my bacon bourbon experiment, it did teach me that infusing bourbon with other flavors was a fairly straightforward process. I managed to pick up some vanilla beans at the local mega-mart and I settled on Maker’s Mark as my target bourbon since I thought its sweetness would go well with the vanilla.

I started by splitting three vanilla beans lengthwise and dropping them into a jar along with the entire 750 of Maker’s. I let this sit for two days, giving it an occasional shake. I then fished out the beans, scraped out the seeds, and returned the seeds to the jar while discarding the pods. After two more days with occasional shaking, I filtered the bourbon back into its original bottle.

It’s a little sweet to be drinking straight, but it is delicious and excellent in cocktails. I can’t wait until the holidays get here and I have the opportunity to try my eggnog recipe with Madagascar Maker’s.

About Bourbon in Exile

Bourbon lover living in beer country
This entry was posted in My Bourbon Shelf and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

