Buffalo Van Winkle

I love data. I really love metadata – data about data. So, needless to say, I love my WordPress stats page. I can see how many visitors I get, where they come from, and what they’re looking at. I can even see what they typed into the search engine that landed them here on my silly little blog. It’s pretty awesome for a nerd like me.

For the last couple months, I’ve been getting dozens of hits a day from people looking for info on Pappy Van Winkle and the Buffalo Trace Antique Collection.

Here in Dallas, the Pappy has come and gone. Even the less sought after bottles of 10 and 12 year Van Winkle have disappeared from the locked glass cases and managers’ offices where they’ve been hiding since the stores got their allotments last month. I didn’t get any Pappy this year and I’m not at all bummed about it. I’ve been waiting for the Buffalo.

Luckily, the Buffalo Trace Antique Collection isn’t nearly as rare as the Pappy. According to my whiskey guy, his store just got a surprise BTAC bonus delivery and they hadn’t even sold through their initial allotment yet. Granted, their initial allotment wasn’t huge. They only had five bottles of William Larue Weller – the one I wanted – to start with. But you’re only going to get BTAC from my whiskey guy if you’ve bothered to talk to him and establish that all-important whiskey lover/whiskey monger relationship. If you haven’t gotten to know your whiskey monger yet, then your best bet is to call around to the stores in the suburbs and hope they have a bottle in their high-end booze case.

I dropped by his store on Thursday evening to check up on the BTAC. We talked bourbon while the Pretty Little Wife filled the cart up with wine. He told me about the additional bottles of BTAC they got and how it had raised his hopes of getting a bottle of Weller once they’d taken care of all their loyal customers. I walked out with my bottle of Weller and I sincerely hope that he is able to get his.

If you do stop by his store and you don’t get the bottle you want, don’t fret. The big locked glass case at the end of the bourbon aisle has more than a few bottles of the Four Roses small batch limited edition that John Hansell over at Whisky Advocate rated as his favorite whiskey of the winter issue. And there’s no waiting list for the Four Roses.

About Bourbon in Exile

Bourbon lover living in beer country
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Buffalo Van Winkle

  1. What store was this? Spec’s?

    • Yeah, on Walnut Hill and 75.

      • I thought so. Those bottles are actually the 2011 edition, John H named the 2012 as his favorite. From what I have heard from Spec’s, Texas is not getting the 2012. Why? I don’t know. Seems like a strange thing to do to Texas – a huge whiskey market – especially after we got the 2012 1B earlier this year.

      • I suppose I didn’t look that closely. Can’t believe they got that much of the 2011 small batch (and 2012 single barrel, which I got for Fathers Day) and won’t be getting the 2012 small batch.

        That makes me sad.

      • Something is fishy about that. Hopefully it shows up eventually.

      • I sure hope so. Not to be a bourbon hipster, but it does seem that Four Roses’ limited editions have become less limited in recent years. I had to go back home to Kentucky to get the 2008 and 2009 small batch limited (mariage) editions. They were releases of 3491 and 3432 bottles respectively. The 2011 small batch and 2012 single barrel limited editions were the first Four Roses ltd eds I saw in Texas. They were releases of 3792 and 5178 bottles. I’m not going to accuse Four Roses of “limited edition inflation”, but I do find it interesting that they had to have dumped something like 25 barrels (assuming about 200 bottles per barrel) to release their single barrel limited edition.

Leave a Reply

